Making A Difference

Started the day at 5 in the morning and I wish it was to run but i was to drive into the city. I was excited for the simple fact that I was going to leave early in order to go to my Team In Training Kickoff. Once I arrived into NYC the sun was starting to rise and the Empire State Building was Red, White and Blue. Talk about feeling proud to be a New Yorker and an American.

image (17)

As the work day progressed I became tired and cranky. I couldn’t wait to get out. I finally left at 4pm for a 7pm meeting that should only take me 45 minutes to get to, but instead it took me 2 hours and 45 minutes. From the moment I arrived I could feel the positive vibe in the room. Everyone was so nice and extremely excited to be there. Someone told their story on how they got involved years ago and there wasn’t a dry eye in the room. I made a friend who lives about 15 minutes east so we decided to go together to our Saturday runs, which are at 7am forty minutes from my house. By the time I left I was extremely motivated and I knew that I was making a difference.

The individuals at Team In Training are wonderful people. They have created their own family and have opened their doors to all of us newbies. I am looking forward to a fun and powerful training. One woman there has run 17 half marathon, all for charity but this is her first Team In Training run. It is amazing to see all the giving and wonderful people there is. Even with all the evil in the world there are those who work to create miracles and I want to be one of those.

What motivates you to run? Have you done any fundraising events, if so which ones?

Leave a Reply

