Breakfast of Champions

I started my day with a breakfast of champions.

IMG-20140211-00090What’s the saying? “Feed a cold, starve a fever.” I haven’t had a Dunkin Donuts egg sandwich in years and I mean years, but for some reason my body was craving it. A perk of my job is that depending on what campus I am on we have certain brands and on today’s campus we have a Dunkin Donuts, which means free food for me. It also means free food for my religion class, I bought home some munchkins for my munchkins.

Did I tell you how good that sandwich was, it was delicious. I knew I was running tonight so I used the excuse of needing some protein and carbs in order to make me feel better.

I was looking forward to a long run tonight but my body wasn’t. This stupid cold is kicking my butt and I think it is because my body is trying to fight it off. I went out with the intention of doing 5 miles in order to makeup for not running last night and since I usually go out after 9pm it is tough for me to do more then that. Well I ran, but it was terrible. The weather was 19 degrees and windy, which meant I wore extra layers, including on my legs.

Once I began running I felt like my legs didn’t want to move. The wind was cold and in my face, but I was able to move passed that and keep my breathing regulated. My legs are what gave me the most trouble. My average pace was 10.01 with my fastest mile at 9.46, both times slower then I normally run.

I wasn’t sure if I was going to able to go any further then 3 miles, but I pushed myself as hard as I could and I actually ran most of the 4th mile by going around my block. I didn’t want to run too far from home. Funny because just this past weekend someone said, “You know your a runner when you run up and down your own block just to finish your run on the next mile.

How was your run today? Do you ever run on your block just to finish with a solid number? What is your guilty breakfast pleasure? 

4 thoughts on “Breakfast of Champions

  1. Good for you for pushing through! I hope your cold goes away soon!

    I had a pretty good run today. I’m working on coming back from an injury and up to this point have taken things pretty easy. I pushed myself pretty hard on a treadmill 5km and could feel a sliiight amount of pain at the end. A little disheartening, however the pain has already subsided which is definitely progress! Guilty breakfast pleasure = pancakes loaded in butter and syrup 🙂

    • @happpylifehealthylife I hear ya. I just woke up this morning feeling worse, but I am going to try to run today because snow is coming and I won’t be able to run again until most likely Friday. Keep going, you are doing great, but don’t push too hard because you don’t want to hurt yourself even worse. One day at a time right now. I could go for some pancakes right now but I am sucking down one of my favorite green smoothies instead. I need the vitamins and antioxidants today.

Leave a Reply

