Better Days Ahead

Overall, today was a better day then yesterday. I woke up pain free, but once I started to drive my hip did get soar, but that was the only time it was bothering me. I have been stretching all day and I will ice it shortly. I also did not run again today, which made me sad, but I know my body needs the extra day of rest.

I did enjoy some treats today, some healthier then others. I had 2 green smoothies today, one was made for me and the other I made myself at home. The one I made at home was skim milk, spinach, mango and banana. It was yummy.

image

I love my new smoothie maker!

Of course tonight since I couldn’t run I had ice cream. I mixed 4 different Ben and Jerry flavors in the one bowl. It was needed and it was gooooood!

image (1)

Okay, I can’t hold it any longer! I have very exciting news, which makes taking the extra day off from running so worth it. I am going to officially run the Nike Women’s Half Marathon in Washington, DC as my first half! I cannot express how happy I am about this. There are 15,000 runners, with the majority of them being women. Once you cross the finish line you receive a Tiffany Necklace and the most important part is that my family is coming with me. We are actually going to make a mini vacation of it and the best part is that I raised so much money for Leukemia & Lymphoma Society with Team In Training that they are paying for my bib, 3 nights hotel and I am getting $125 American Express gift card. If any of you are going let me know, would love to meet up!

 

What was the best part of your day? What race are you looking forward to? Who usually cheers you on at a race?

5 thoughts on “Better Days Ahead

  1. WOW!!! I was about to tell you I was jealous of your ice cream feast, but that is totally overshadowed now by my envy for the Nike Half!! I’m super stoked for you, it sounds like it will be an amazing experience!!

Leave a Reply

