What A Weekend

What a weekend! I started Saturday with a team run of 8 miles. My body wasn’t feeling it. By mile six I wanted to collapse. My team was the only reason I kept going. If I was alone I would of never finished 8 miles, but because of the team there was no quitting. While I was running I thought I was so slow, it felt like my legs weren’t moving. It was terrible, I was dreading the finish line because I didn’t want to see how terrible my time was. When I finally finished I was shocked! My overall pace was 9’08” and the last 4 miles were all under 9 minutes. I was shocked! I couldn’t believe it! My slowest mile was mile 3 at 9’31”. Maybe I can break 2 hours at DC, but do I really want to take that chance and then collapse at the end. I don’t think it is worth it. My mentor said I may not break 2 in DC but I will by the fall. It is exciting to think about it. Saturday’s run also convinced me that I need buy a watch this week, I need to practice pacing so I don’t burn out the day of the half and I want to be comfortable using the watch. Stay tuned.

Once I got home I was in party mode. I had Brianna’s birthday party with her friends at my house. Yes, I hosted seven 5 year old’s at my house. The theme was Frozen (of course) and I have to say the party was a success. Lots of fun for all. Nails, hair and makeup included.

Saturday night I still kept going (just like the energizer bunny). I took Isabella and her best friend, her Mom and my sister to go see Divergent. Loved it! We all enjoyed it better the the Hunger Game movies. I read the series and when I read them I always loved the male main character Four, but I loved him even more after the movie.

image (2)

After swim this morning we took the girls to go see Cinderella on Broadway. It was one of Brianna’s birthday presents.

image (6)image (7)

I have to admit that I was disappointed. It was slow for a musical. Plus Carly Rae Jepson was supposed to be there as Cinderella and she wasn’t, Bella was very disappointed. The voices were great, but the music was boring. Brianna loved it, but Bella wasn’t thrilled and neither was Michael or I. After the play the girls convinced Michael that we should walk to American Girl.

image (5)image (3)

All in all the weekend was lots of fun, but now I have so much to do. Laundry is piled high, my house is upside down and I need to get groceries. When this will all happen, I don’t know, but I will figure it out. At this point I am looking forward to getting through the rest of this month and then going to DC. One day at a time.

Leave a Reply

